Gaëtan Thomas Ian McRae Award



Mr. Gaëtan Thomas is currently the President and Chief Executive Officer at New Brunswick Power, and has previously held the role of Chief Nuclear Officer and Vice President Nuclear. Throughout his career, he has advanced nuclear energy as a manager, administrator, public servant and top-level communicator.

Mr. Thomas is known as a leader who engages with staff at all levels of the organization, facilitating a culture of innovation and excellence. He demonstrated determination and persistence in leading his team through completion of the Point Lepreau Refurbishment project and start-up, giving the station an extended 30 years of operation. He built a foundation of safety and operational excellence upon which the company could flourish and grow. In 2019, Point Lepreau achieved the highest industry standards as assessed by the World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO).

Mr. Thomas is also a leader within the broader industry. His roles have included Chair of the New Brunswick Energy Marketing Corporation, Board member of Plug 'n Drive, and Chairman of the WANO Atlanta Centre. Additionally, he has been selected by Atlantic Business Magazine as one of the region's Top 50 CEOs, and was selected as one of the Most Influential Acadians by L'Acadie Nouvelle.

In recent years, Mr. Thomas has been instrumental in positioning New Brunswick Power as a leader in the development and deployment of Small Modular Reactors (SMRs). He has successfully worked with the New Brunswick government to encourage investment in SMR technology.

Mr. Gaëtan Thomas is being presented with the Ian McRae Award for his leadership at Point Lepreau Nuclear Station and his contributions to positioning New Brunswick Power as a leader in the development of Small Modular Reactors.