George C. Laurence Award for Nuclear Safety


This award is presented to an individual or team to recognize
major contributions to the philosophy, science, and application of safety principles for nuclear reactors.

The George C. Laurence Award for Nuclear Safety was established in 2012 – named in honour of Dr. George C. Laurence, who was President of the Atomic Energy Control Board (now the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission) from 1961 to 1970. He was a strong advocate of safety throughout his career.

Individuals or teams nominated for this award should have
demonstrated a strong commitment to safety and be able to provide evidence to their excellence in promoting and implementing safety in the nuclear field. The nomination letter should demonstrate how the individual or team has practised exemplary nuclear safety and should include a description of the achievement and specific references, examples etc. The nomination letter should be supplemented by support letters from at least two other individuals.

Past recipients George C. Laurence Award for Nuclear Safety:

  • 2019 – Glenn Archinoff
  • 2017 – Barclay Howden
  • 2015 – Greg Rzentkowski
  • 2014 – Liliana Comanescu
  • 2013 – Marc-Antoine Petrilli