Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

2022 Fuel Conference

August 21, 2022 August 24, 2022


Following the success of the 14th conference held in Mississauga, Ontario in 2019, the 15th International Conference on CANDU Fuel to be held in Ajax, Ontario on August 21-24, 2022, will once again bring together international nuclear fuel industry experts involved in research, design, fabrication, operations, fuel modelling, safety analysis and regulation. Under the theme of “Advanced Fuel Manufacturing and SMR Initiatives for a Cleaner Energy Future”, the technical sessions will cover topics on design, development, modelling, qualification and manufacturing including CANDU and Small Modular Reactors (SMR) fuels. A session focused on experiences and lessons learned from non-CANDU fuel types has been added.  The sessions will be composed of: 

A. Advanced Fuel Manufacturing: Fuel manufacturer experience, advances in manufacturing & inspection technologies, additive manufacturing, blending RU and DU, fuel manufacturing challenges and improvements.

B. SMR Fuel: Design, development, modelling, fabrication/synthesis and supply-chain.

C. Fuel Performance:  Fuel behaviour (normal operating conditions and extended burnup), station experience and Hot Cell work & capabilities.  Common causes of fuel failure from other reactor designs are also welcome.

D.  Fuel Safety:  Performance improvements, Licensing issues, accident studies, fission gas release, fuel behaviour, LOCA initiatives and experimental simulation, fuel acceptance criteria, fuel deformation and dryout.

E.  Fuel Design & Development:  Modifications to fuel designs and quality assurance in fuel design and development, MOX, inert matrices, DUPIC, slightly enriched uranium (SEU), recovered uranium (RU), Thoria fuel cycle, Gen IV Fuel Types, economical and societal implications of fuel cycles.

F.  Fuel Code Development:  Predictive capability on thermal, mechanical, irradiation and fission-gas release behaviour under normal operating and accident conditions and predicting aerosol behaviour.   Advanced code/model development, which may include radiation protection/ shielding.

G.  Fuel Management:  Fuel management schemes, load following, fuel physics analysis and specific operational challenges.

H.  Fuel Bundle Thermal Hydraulics:  Critical Heat Flux assessment, Computational Fluid Dynamics modelling, reactor aging, pressure tube performance and fuel simulation and testing.

I.  Used Fuel Management:  Fuel handling technology, spent fuel storage, and in-storage fuel behaviour.

J. Advanced Fuel Modelling and Code Development:  Models that are being developed to further support fuel performance and safety assessment. Multi-physics/multi-scale simulation.


The following are important deadlines for paper submissions, Awards and Registrations. Late submissions may not be accepted.

  • March 15, 2022 On-line submission of Abstracts
  • March 31, 2022 Notification of the Acceptance of Abstracts
  • April 30, 2022  Receive Fuel Technology Awards Nomination
  • May 31, 2022  On-line Submission of Full Papers
  • June 30, 2022 Notification of Acceptance of Full Papers
  • July 20, 2022 Early Bird Registration



Full Paper

On-line submission of final version of papers is due May 31, 2022. 


Please see Full Final Conference Program – Posted August 16, 2022 (Click Here)


Note: All fees in CAN$
Note: To register as a CNS member, your membership must be in good standing for 2022)
All prices include HST (#870488889 RT).

Registration includes one ticket to the Conference Banquet and fun night (details to be announced later) at the conference venue. If you would like a guest to join us for the Conference dinner and fun night, please request an additional ticket through the link above.


As in the past, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) would continue to patronize this Conference as an in-cooperation meeting and provide funds to support travel of experts who will attend this conference from the Member States involved in pressurized heavy water reactor (PHWR) fuel development.

The IAEA has limited funds at its disposal to help meet the travel costs of participants from these countries.  Preference will be given to participants who are expected to make an important contribution to the event, and such assistance will be limited to normally one participant per country.

Organizations/Individuals should ensure that application for grant is:

Applications which do not comply with the above conditions will not be eligible to receive IAEA grant. The grants awarded will be in the form of a lump sum, usually covering part of the travel cost of attendance.


As always, we are also accepting nominations for the CNS Fuel Technology award to recognize senior or retired individuals who have contributed greatly to the field of Nuclear Fuel.

Please provide your full name and address, the full name of the nominee with a one page summary stating:

i) the significance or impact of the contribution

ii) their reputation or standing of the recipient in the domestic and international fuel community

iii) their mentorship of junior scientists and engineers

iv) the length of career in the nuclear industry


The conference will take place at the Ajax Convention Centre with accommodations available at two luxurious hotels, The Hilton Garden Inn Ajax and The Homewood Suites by Hilton, conveniently located just off Highway 401 at the Salem Road exit.

These facilities provide excellent service in a convenient location. The Ajax Convention Centre is situated between two excellent accommodations and are just 45 Km from downtown Toronto and 55 Km from the Toronto Pearson International Airport.


Room rate in the CNS Block: $159/night + tax, single/double.
This rate will be available until the earlier of:

  • the cutoff date of July 7, 2022, or
  • the date when the CNS block is full.

So, we recommend early guestroom reservation to avoid disappointment.
Reservations can be made by:


Reservations can be made by:


Proposed Organizing Committees:

Conference Chair

Doug Jensen (Cameco)

IAEA Collaboration

Paul Chan (RMC) / Mr. Ki Seob Sim (IAEA)

Technical Program Coordinators

Paul Chan (RMC) / Mingjun Chen (NPP) / Raheel Hameed (Cameco) / Markus Piro (Ont. Tech. University) / Mukesh Tayal (CNS) / Wei Shen (COG) & Mr. Ki Seob Sim (IAEA)

Awards Committee

Brent Lewis / Paul Chan (RMC)


Elmir Lekovic (CNS) / Michelle Webb / Deborah Northwood-Tink (Cameco)

Facilities and Tour Coordinator

Michelle Webb (Cameco)

Communication Coordinator

Sara Forsey (Cameco)


Lane Bannerman (Cameco) / Sara Forsey (Cameco) / Paul Chan (RMC)

Hotel Coordinator

Sara Forsey (Cameco) / Raheel Hameed (Cameco)


Adam McFarland (Cameco) / Chris Knox (Cameco)

Secretary & Reception

Michelle Webb (Cameco) / Deborah Northwood-Tink (Cameco)


Mohamed Younis (CNS) / Mohinder Grover (CNS) 


M Kommy Farahani (RMC) / Doug Jensen (Cameco) / Sara Forsey (Cameco)


Sara Forsey (Cameco) / Adam McFarland (Cameco) / Deborah Northwood-Tink (Cameco)

Technical / IT Services    

Elmir Lekovic (CNS) / Tracy Lambert (Cameco) / Dave Westcott (Cameco)




August 21, 2022
August 24, 2022
Event Category: